World Refugee Day 2016 – Hellen’s Story

「英語の説明の下に、日本語で書いた説明があります」Hellen

My name is Hellen Icoroit. For 13 days I was held captive by the rebels from the Lord’s Resistance Army along with 27 others in the swamp of Amuria in Uganda. During that time, four to five people would be taken to be shot every other day, and me and my grandson were last in the line. At that time I was crying and senselessly groaning. I thought I was going to die with my grandchild. But when it came to our turn, the soldiers suddenly lowered their guns… for some reason they changed their minds. I don’t know why, only that I am alive today.”

Uganda’s history of civil wars and violent insurgencies has displaced thousands of Ugandans. In 2012, RIJ provided 200 families from Northern Uganda’s Morungatuny IDP camp with resettlement kits to return to their homes and rebuild their lives, at a total cost of USD $19,650. By assisting not only the returning families but also the home community through increased economic opportunities and improved health, this project ultimately benefitted 2,049 people.

“Now, many of us in the camp are returning to our ancestral homes. I am grateful for the resettlement kit that has been provided to my family, as it addresses the issue that matters to me most: the health and safety of my grandson. Because I am now being helped, I can start a good life all over again and re-integrate into my community.  A mosquito net like this one (in the kit) can save a life. With these resettlement kits, we can save those still living with us.

After all what do we live for, if not to make life less difficult for each other?

June 20th is World Refugee Day. In 2016, with more people forced to flee their homes, countries and lives than ever before, RIJ is stepping in to provide vital support. 

But we need your assistance to do this. With USD$19,650, RIJ not only enabled 200 families such as Hellen’s to resettle their homes and regain an independent life, but also improved the health, educational and economic opportunities of thousands of their community members.

Your support does make a difference. To make a donation, click here.

 


 

「私の名前はヘレン・イコロイトです。私は13日間のアムリア県の沼地で、神の抵抗軍と呼ばれる反政府武装勢力に孫と人質として捕らわれていました。私と孫の他に27人の人質がいましたが、当時は、毎日4、5人が撃たれました。私達は列の最後尾にいました。一人、また一人と命が消えていくのを目の当たりにし、あまりの恐怖に耐えられず泣き、うめきました。死ぬ。そう思いました。しかし、私達の番になると、突如兵士達は武器を下ろしました。それから、私の孫を子供だと思い込み、彼をどうするかと激しい言い合いを始めました。どういう風の吹き回しか、私達を撃つのをやめました。その理由は不明ですが、分かっているのは、今私は「生きている」ということだけです。」

ウガンダの長い内戦と激しい反乱の歴史は何千もの戦火に怯える国内避難民を出しました。2013年、RIJ(国際難民支援会)は北ウガンダのモルンガチュニー難民キャンプで生活する200の家族に元の場所で生活を再建するために必要な物資の支援をしました。避難民の家族だけでなくコミュニティ全体の経済的機会も増やすことで結果的にこのプロジェクトは2,049人もの人々の生活を改善しました。

「私と孫はMorungatunyの難民キャンプでお世話になることになりました。ここで私の家族が頂いた再定住キットのお陰で、私が一番不安に思っていたことが解消されました。それは孫の安全と健康の確保です。このキットの中には、蚊帳、種子、健康用品等が入っていました。皆さんの温かい支援により、私達は新しい生活を始める事ができ、社会復帰も出来ました。健康でなければ、困難な人生が待ち受けているだけです。

私達は子供と夫を亡くした女性達の健康を守らなければなりません。蚊帳一つでも人一人の命を救うことが出来るのです(私のように!)。頂いた再定住キットでここにいる全員の命を救うことが出来ます。結局我々はお互いの人生をより生き易くするために生きているのだと私は思います。」

6月20日は世界難民の日です。2016年には増加する世界中で増え続けるする激しい紛争により、国や故郷から逃げることを余儀なくされる人々がかつてない程増えています。

これを受けてRIJ(国際難民支援会)は毎年、何千もの難民の生活再建の支援をしています。

しかし、これを成し遂げるにはあなたの助けが必要です。20,000USドルでヘレンのような状況にいる200の家族が住んでいた家に帰し再び自立した生活を送ることができるようになります。それだけでなく、周りの何千もの人々の健康や教育、経済的機会を改善することにつながります。

あなたのサポートが彼らを変えます。寄付をするにはここをクリックしてください

Leave a Reply

