World Refugee Day 2016 – Khayal’s Story

「英語の説明の下に、日本語で書いた説明があります」

My name is Khayal KhayalMera, and I am from a small village in Tirah Valley, Pakistan. I am 65 years old. Last year my son died in a bomb blast. Fighting and conflict has forced me and my family to leave my home village. My husband also died during the conflict a few years before my son so our family didn’t have enough resources to buy medicine and grocery items. I was full of grief for my lost son. I stopped working in our house and my eating and sleeping habits were disturbed so my family members were worried about my condition. I was very sensitive and short-tempered and getting very aggressive really quickly. I didn’t want to live anymore.”

In 2014, Refugees International Japan funding of $20,000 supported health and psychosocial services to internally-displaced persons like Khayal in Pakistan’s Peshawar district.  The project provided hygiene kits and hygiene awareness training, psycho-social counseling for victims of trauma, and awareness training to humanitarian workers. Ultimately, this project supported over 1700 people to recover from their experiences and improve their lives.  

“Through this program, I was able to receive psychological counseling. Slowly, I got myself involved in domestic work and was able to spend more time with my lovely grandsons and daughters. My health condition improved and I feel much more relaxed now. I can now start to think towards the future of my family. I was feeling very disappointed in the beginning with everything, but the counseling sessions helped me a lot to recover from that phase. I am now thinking towards life in a positive way.”

June 20th is World Refugee Day. In 2016, with more people being forced to flee their homes than ever before, RIJ is stepping in to provide vital support. 

But we need your help to do this. RIJ’s $20,000 project transformed over 1700 lives – this means a single ¥1300 donation gave Khayal back hope for the future. Your support does make a difference.

To make a donation, click here.

 

私の名前はカヤール・メラです。パキスタンのテ ィラ・バリーという小さい村で暮らしています。私は現在65歳です。去年、息子が爆弾の爆発 事故に合い、亡くなりました。長年続いている紛 争により私と家族は村からの強制退去を強いられ ました。今は、嫁、娘3人、孫3人と共に賃貸に住 んでいます。私の夫も息子の死の数年前に亡くな ったため、私達家族には薬や食料を買うお金があ りませんでした。息子の死をきっかけに私は絶望 に陥りました。家事が疎かになり、食事や睡眠の習慣が乱れ体調を崩し家族がとても心配してい ました。私は何事に対しても敏感になりやすく、 すぐにカッとなりました。もう生きている意味が ない。そう思いました。」

2014年、RIJ(国際難民支援会)は支援金として2万ドルを、パキスタンのペシャワル地区にいたカヤルのような国内強制退去を受けた人々の健康面と心理社会的な面における支援のために送りました。このプロジェクトは、衛生キット、高齢者及び障害者のいる家族への衛生意識向上訓練、トラウマをもつ個人及び家族への心理社会的なカウンセリング、人道支援者への意識向上訓練を提供しました。近年では、1700人以上の人が自身の経験を克服し、より良い生活に繋げることができました。

「このプログラムを通して、心理カウンセリングを受 けることが出来ました。それからは、少しずつ ですが、社会復帰もし、娘達と孫達との時間も楽し く過ごせるようになりました。私の体調も回復し、 今では何の問題もありません。私は今、これからの家族の将来を考えることが出来ます。プログラムに 入る以前は何もかも嫌になっていました。しかし、 カウンセリングの講義に参加したことでその絶望か ら抜け出すことが出来ました。私はこれから人生を 前向きに歩もうと思います。」

6月20日は世界難民の日です。2016年には、世界中で危険な紛争が増すにつれて、家や国そして命を失わなければならなくなってしまう人々の数が増しています。

この増大する世界規模の危機に対処するため、RIJ(国際難民支援会)は数千人の難民たちの人生を築き直すための支援を毎年行っています。

でもそのためにはあなたの助けが必要です。RIJが行う2万ドル規模のプロジェクトで1700人の人生が変わりました。これはつまり、1300円の寄付金でカヤールに未来への希望を取り戻してもらえるということです。あなたの助けこそが、状況を変えていくのです。

寄付をするために、ここをクリックしてください

Leave a Reply

