Elizabeth Neville: Spring 2014 Intern

75914_1413611215550440_2031675175_n

My name is Elizabeth Neville, and I am a third-year law student at the University of Colorado Law School. Driven by a growing interest in international human rights issues, particularly those affecting refugees and internally displaced persons, I chose to spend this final semester of law school abroad through an exchange with Temple University’s Japan Campus. I have just started my internship with RIJ, and I am grateful for this opportunity to contribute to RIJ’s honorable work.

I believe that the most powerful aspect of RIJ’s work is that the projects it funds are sustainable, designed to empower refugees to rebuild and continue to improve their lives in the long term.  While here, I hope to learn more about the practicalities that keep a fundraising NPO running smoothly and to gain a stronger working knowledge of how an NPO can most productively address refugee and IDP issues.

Practically, my work here will consist of conducting research, helping with RIJ’s social media outreach, performing administrative tasks, assisting with event planning, and generally providing my energy wherever it is needed. I am thrilled to be here, and I sincerely hope that my work will contribute positively to RIJ’s mission.

Leave a Reply

